Season Details Released

The NBA is beginning to release details about the upcoming season.

As of Friday, we already knew the season would begin on December 25 and would likely feature the three matchups already scheduled for that day – New York-Boston, Dallas-Miami and Chicago-Los Angeles (Lakers) – and would be 66 games.

Now we know the season will be 66 games and obviously, each NBA team won’t visit every NBA city like they do during a normal 82-game season:

Teams would play 48 games within their conference and 18 outside their conference. Teams will not visit every NBA city.

Teams will play about two more games per month, but no team would play on three straight nights more than three times.

Back-to-backs might also be played during the second round of the postseason.

(Andrew Melnick is Howard the Dunk’s lead blogger, ESPN Florida’s Magic Insider ( and is the co-host of the Insiders Show Sunday mornings at 10:00 am EST. Subscribe to his RSS feed, add him on Facebook and follow him onTwitter to follow him daily. You can download the HTD app here)

Next Magic Game Full schedule »
Friday, Oct 2424 Oct7:00Dallas MavericksBuy Tickets

Tags: Nba Lockout Orlando Magic

comments powered by Disqus