Thursday, 24 May 2018
Latest news
Main » Larson takes pole for FireKeepers Casino 400

Larson takes pole for FireKeepers Casino 400

19 June 2017

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series is in the Wolverine State, as drivers are set to compete in Sunday's FireKeepers Casino 400 at Michigan International Speedway. Kyle Busch qualified fourth, followed by Denny Hamlin, Pocono victor Ryan Blaney, Joey Logano and Jamie McMurray.

Elliott was in position to win at MIS last June, but his poor restart late in the race opened the door for Joey Logano to win. He also delivered a Top 10 finish at Michigan's sister track, Auto Club Speedway, back in March. "I've probably been here 10 times before as a fan and got to do the ARCA race previous year here".

Larson started from the pole and led 98 of the race's 200 laps.

"We made some good adjustments there for that final round", said Larson, who earned his first Coors Light Pole Award at MI, his second of the season and the third of his career.

"I would say (Michigan is) a weekend that is circled every year on our calendar and one where we've had a lot of success but haven't been able to break through for that first win", Keselowski said. "It's not like we're out to win races, but we're running consistently".

Johnson said he recently introduced his daughters to Star Wars, so obviously they've already decided on this year's Halloween costumes.

For a limited time, I am offering a copy of my DFS NASCAR cheathsheet which includes Track History, Current Form, Odds, Track Type History, Practice/Qualifying Ranks and much more. In 12 starts this season, the driver of the No. 5 Pilot Flying J Chevy has garnered four top 10's.

"So far, a pretty good weekend with leading practice and getting quick time here, so, yeah, exciting weekend and hopefully we keep it going".

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won at Talladega, Austin Dilllon at Charlotte and Ryan Blaney at Pocono.

A former NASCAR driver who made 602 starts at the Cup level, Hylton owns the ARCA vehicle driven by Shelby Township resident Smith.

As a result, Busch and the two others who made the two-tire gamble - rookie Erik Jones and Dale Earnhardt Jr. - came off pit road 1-2-3 for the subsequent restart.

Busch and Larson were first and second on a restart following a caution for debris with 15 laps remaining. Busch won at the two-mile track in 2015, while Daniel Suarez captured the checkered flag there past year. He has the most upside of any driver in this format, and if he can just flirt with a Top 20 finish, he can approach 40 fantasy points.

Denny Hamlin finished fourth and Jamie McMurray was fifth.