Friday, 18 January 2019
Latest news
Main » Karnataka registers 72.13 % turnout, better than last election in 2013

Karnataka registers 72.13 % turnout, better than last election in 2013

14 May 2018
Karnataka registers 72.13 % turnout, better than last election in 2013

Asserting that a nation can not be "built on divides", Congress MP Shashi Tharoor on Sunday said India was not safe in the hands of the BJP government. "There is a silent and strong wave in favour of BJP and public anger against Siddaramaiah and Congress", he said. Siddharamaiah, who appeared high on confidence by the end of polling day yesterday, will know the future of his political career on May 15.

In what is projected as a tight race, voting was held in 222 out of 224 seats in a three-cornered contest among the ruling Congress, the BJP and former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda's JD (S).

Most exit polls predicted a hung assembly in Karnataka with the BJP's emerging as the single largest party with 99 seats and the Congress close second with 84 seats.

A hung Assembly will throw up interesting possibilities. If they do combine to form the government, it could be at the cost of some top leaders; so, as of now, this looks quite improbable.

Nevertheless, the Karnataka Chief Minister's softened stance and his comments on paving way for another leader, if Congress leadership demands it, certainly comes as big news for both Congress and JD (S). He (Yeddyurappa) is mentally disturbed.

Congress is looking to retain power in Karnataka and revive its sagging fortunes nationally, while the BJP is trying to wrest the state out of opposition hands and open an entry to south Indian states like Tamil Nadu and Kerala before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. This is primarily because voters do not see it forming a government on its own.

India Today-Axis My India surveyed 70,574 voters in all the 222 assemblies that went to polls.

He pointed out that this was his last election and that he will act as a mentor for his party.

Karnataka has an electorate of over 4.97 crores, including 2.52 crore men and 2.45 crore women.

While Belagavi district had the highest number of voters (37,23,585), Kodagu district had the lowest voter share (4,33,846). Voting was deferred in two constituencies. National General Secretary Danish Ali said that Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah and the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) CM candidate Yeddyurappa claims will prove wrong when the results will be declared.

In Rajarajeshwari Nagar, the polling was postponed after a bundle of fake voter identity cards was found from a flat in Bengaluru's Jalahalli locality by the EC officials on May 8.