The US Golf Association cited one rule as having precedence over a second rule that could have DQ'd Mickelson.
Contributing to his downfall was a meltdown on the par four 13th.
Mickelson caused quite a stir at the U.S. Open on Saturday when he intentionally putted a ball that was still rolling. He ran a few steps toward it and hit it before it stopped, sending it by the hole back to near where he originally putted from.
He then two-putted for 10, with the penalty.
"It's certainly not meant that way", he said. "Sometimes in these situations, it's just easier to take the 2 shots and move on". He offered that he knows the rules and that taking a two-shot penalty was better than the alternative.
"I think it's just one of them moments when you're not thinking about it, it just happens and he did it", said the burly Englishman, whose nickname is "beef".
Commentating on the incident for Fox, former Ryder Cup captain Paul Azinger said: "That's the most out of character I have ever seen Phil". Sorry, I have to laugh at this.' He just laughed with me. "Everybody's got to play it".
"I've wanted to do that many times".
Daly, however, already had a reputation for being unpredictable, whereas Mickelson's reputation as American golf's golden man has been cultivated over nearly three decades of exemplary behaviour on the course.
"I don't see how", he said. Or, you might actually be Phil Mickelson himself - happy birthday, and thanks for stopping by!
Mickelson, 48, did not speak to reporters after Sunday's final round of the U.S. Open, where he finished in a share of 48th place and 15 shots back of repeat champion Brooks Koepka.
"You might as well have played two different courses and said, "We'll play this easy course in the morning and play this really hard course in the afternoon".
Asked if he had an issue with what Mickelson did, Johnston said: "No, not at all".
Later, after acknowledging he was using Rule 14-5 to his advantage, Mickelson called USGA officials. Mickelson shot even par on the first three holes and birdied the par-4 fourth hole, putting him at 5-over for the championship. "I took the two-shot penalty and moved on".
What is he doing?' But I " m not a rules person, so if the rules say two-strokes, then that's what he should have gotten". They want it brutally hard. I don't know if it would have saved me a shot or not. "I'm sure he is going to regret that". "So either way, there's no disrespect meant". At this rate, he'll just be glad to leave Shinnecock Hills in one piece.
- Instagram launches its own version of YouTube
- Trump to sign decree to end migrant family separations
- US Senate approves bill reinstating ban on ZTE
- NBA Draft: Could Luka Doncic Fall to Hawks at #3?
- Palace says UK's Prince Louis to be christened July 9
- Russia 2018, Group C: France vs Australia match highlights
- U.S. Expected to Withdraw From UN’s Human Rights Council
- Diego Costa digs Spain's escape route against gutsy Iran to level Portugal
- AMC Theaters Set to Challenge MoviePass With New $20 Subscription Plan
- Southgate proud of his teams recovery