Saturday, 20 April 2019
Latest news
Main » India announce final 12 for first T20I against Windies

India announce final 12 for first T20I against Windies

04 November 2018
India announce final 12 for first T20I against Windies

The game is scheduled to begin at 7.00 PM (IST), while the Toss will take place at 6.30 PM (IST). Wicket-keeper batsman MS Dhoni will also not feature in the upcoming series.

Rohit talked at length about Dhoni and how Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik should make the most of these chances.

The Indian team management on Saturday named the 12-member team for the opening Twenty20 worldwide at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli chased the target in just 14.5 overs despite the dismissal of Shikhar Dhawan early on. Moreover, the visitors have been bolstered by the return of Keiron Pollard, Darren Bravo, Andre Russel and Carlos Brathwaite. Dhoni's slow-paced batting of late has drawn a lot of flak for the former India captain, where fans are asking him to retire.

The iconic player captained the country to the World titles in both the ODI and T20 formats and continued to contribute and motivate the side despite relinquishing the captaincy.

This will certainly inspire West Indies which has reworked the squad, bringing in quite a few T20 specialists. Talking about the Windies, Carlos Brathwaite will be handling the reins of the team.

India: Rohit Sharma (Capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, K.L. Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed and Yuzvendra Chahal. In the following five-match ODI series, they posed some challenge before being thrashed 1-3 with a nine-wicket loss in Thiruvananthapuram in the final one-dayer. The two sides will lock horns at Eden Gardens.

The official broadcaster of India vs West Indies 2018 T20 series is Star Sports Network.

Full details of when, where and how you can watch and follow the 1st T20I between India and West Indies live.

Left-hander Darren Bravo, meanwhile, has not played worldwide cricket in two years because of a protracted dispute with Cricket West Indies, and the last of his 12 T20s came four years ago.