Saturday, 23 March 2019
Latest news
Main » Salvador Perez and Alex Gordon win Gold Glove awards

Salvador Perez and Alex Gordon win Gold Glove awards

07 November 2018
Salvador Perez and Alex Gordon win Gold Glove awards

A total of eight outfielders for the Pirates have won a Gold Glove, with Marte being the last in 2015 and 2016. "Since the award's inception in 1957, it has become the standard by which defensive plays are measured, and to this day the award continues to be one of the most iconic awards in all of sports".

The Boston Red Sox, just a week after winning the World Series, had the most players in the American League named as Rawlings Gold Glove winners, with right fielder Mookie Betts, center fielder Jackie Bradley Jr. and second baseman Ian Kinsler receiving honors Sunday night. The Royals are the only American League team with at least one Rawlings Gold Glove Award victor in each of the last eight seasons (since 2011), and trail only Colorado's streak of nine straight seasons among Major League teams.

"It's an wonderful feeling, and I think God for what's happened to me so far", Arenado said.

It marked the first time since 2013 the Red Sox have claimed multiple Gold Glove winners, with Dustin Pedroia and Shane Victorino having won it during that championship season.

The site said of Wong: "He excels going to his left handling batted balls in the hole between first and second, as good or better than anyone in baseball".

His streak of six consecutive Gold Gloves to begin his career is the second-longest streak in history, trailing only Ichiro Suzuki's streak of 10 straight to begin his major-league career. Voting opens at 9 p.m. CT on November 4th and will end at 9 p.m. CT on November 8th.

Each manager and up to six coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their league, and can not vote for players on their own team.

Arenado led National League third basemen in total chances (430), putouts (104), assists (312), double plays (44), defensive runs above average (8.1) and total zone fielding runs above average (16) while ranking second in fielding percentage (.967) and third in zone rating (.794).