Zach Johnson, a two-time major victor who won the green jacket in 2007, just shanked a shot at the par-5 13th.
-Accidentally strikes the ball when making a practice swing or while preparing to make a stroke.
As he was getting ready to hit his tee shot at the 13th, Johnson accidentally hit his ball while taking a practice swing.
Johnson clipped his ball on one of the swings.
The most impressive part of the sequence is that Johnson then stepped up and bombed a flawless drive down the middle of the fairway.
After the initial shock the Englishman said Johnson saw the amusing side.
"I don't think I could do it again if I even tried", Johnson said.
Under United States Golf Association rules, a ball isn't considered to be "in play" until it's actually hit from the tee area.
Only Johnson's pride was hurt because he was allowed to re-tee the ball without penalty because he had not meant to move it.
The good news for Johnson: He hit his actual drive 285 yards down the middle of the fairway, knocked his second shot to 30 feet and two-putted for birdie on the 510-yard, par-5 hole.
"I thought I had done it all, but now I have done it all", he said after his round.
"He doesn't let me forget many things", Johnson said, "But, hey, you get what you deserve".
And the unusual incident didn't shake Johnson's concentration; he birdied the hole to move to 1 over for the tournament.
- Man City left to question priorities for Crystal Palace visit
- Red-hot Magic set to face Raptors in Round 1 of National Basketball Association playoffs
- Jackets stun Lightning in opener | National Hockey League
- Ex-Obama WH counsel charged with lying in lobbying probe
- Kit Harington: The Game of Thrones finale will be sensational
- WH: Sending Migrants to 'Sanctuary Cities' Not Top Choice
- Hazard 'very happy' about Zidane's Real Madrid return
- Allegri: Juventus Didn't Do Enough To Beat Ajax
- Huge fire breaks out at Coachella as people urged to flee
- Israel Folau prepared to exit rugby without legal fight